生物形态的复活

Jun, 2016 | 科学

"生物形态实验是最早的'应用程序'之一,它证明了达尔文所描述的进化论的基本原理。想想我们在这条路上还可能失去了什么,真是令人痛心"

D C Herath 博士

医疗总监,PRAESENTIA 

想想互联网出现后失去了什么,真是有趣。自理查德-道金斯出版《盲人摸象》并撰写生物形态算法以展示进化过程以来,已经过去了 30 年。1987 年,在新墨西哥州洛斯阿拉莫斯举行的首届人工生命大会上,这些算法被公之于众。当时,我们还没有制定互联网和万维网的发展标准,而生物形态程序(用帕斯卡尔语言编写)由于采用了 "错误的标准 "而犯了错。它曾一度丢失,但现在企鹅公司又把它找了回来。

 

原始生物形态计划

最初的生物形态程序是用帕斯卡尔语言编写的,随着新标准的出现而过时(资料来源:理查德-道金斯)

生物形态程序允许用户从小虫子开始,通过选择下一代的父亲和母亲,进行选择性进化,最终得到类似昆虫的生物。20 年后,道金斯读了达西-汤普森(D'Arcy Thompson)的《生长与形态》一书后,开发了一个类似的贝壳进化程序。汤普森在书中描述了在一个立方体内绘制的三个指数是如何描述任何贝壳结构的。企鹅出版社为了庆祝道金斯的三本重要著作《盲人钟表匠》、攀登不可能山 》和《 编织彩虹 》的重新出版,也重新推出了贝壳算法和生物形态。详情请访问www.mountimprobable.com。该网站允许用户参加一项特别比赛,创造自己的生物形态或外壳。

如今,这些节目和书籍仍然有效,就像它们最初推出时一样。生物形态实验是最早的 "应用程序 "之一,它展示了达尔文所描述的进化论的基本原理。想想我们在这条路上还失去了什么,真是令人惋惜。

参考文献

  1. http://www.mountimprobable.com/ (accessed 13th June 2016)

  • 氢气飞行看起来已做好起飞准备,新的...
    2024 年 7 月 3 日下午 3 时 15 分

    氢动力飞行的可能性意味着更多的无化石燃料旅行机会,而实现这一目标的技术进步正在快速推进。新的研究表明,到 2045 年,半径 750 英里(1200 公里)范围内的几乎所有航空旅行都可以使用氢动力飞机,而 [...] (更多)

  • 利用恒星追踪矮星系中的暗物质
    2024 年 7 月 3 日下午 3 时 13 分

    暗物质是宇宙中看不见的 "粘合剂",它的性质和行为仍然是个谜。虽然星系大部分是由暗物质构成的,但了解暗物质在星系中的分布情况,可以为我们提供一些线索,让我们知道这种物质是什么,以及它与星系的[...]关系如何。

  • 首次 3D 重建 52,000 年前的...
    2024 年 7 月 3 日下午 3 时 13 分

    一个国际研究小组组装出了一只 5.2 万年前的长毛猛犸象的基因组和三维染色体结构--这是首次在任何古代 DNA 样本中实现这一壮举。化石中的染色体比大多数古代DNA片段长一百万倍 [...]

  • 创造力始于摇篮,新研究...
    2024 年 7 月 11 日下午 55 时

    新的研究表明,婴儿可以开始掌握复杂的语言和思想。

  • 一种新的已灭绝鳄鱼亲缘物种...
    2024 年 7 月 11 日下午 54 时

    在美国内华达州三叠纪法夫雷特层(Favret Formation of Nevada)发现了一种新的已灭绝鳄鱼亲缘物种,这一惊人发现改写了恐龙时代第一幕中沿海生活的故事。新物种Benggwigwishingasuchus eremicarminis揭示了当巨[...]

  • 联合治疗可提高人类...
    2024年7月11日下午11时53分

    在临床前研究中,一个研究小组报告了有关一种疗法组合的新发现,这种疗法组合能再生产生胰岛素的人类β细胞,为糖尿病提供了一种可能的新疗法。

在 Pinterest 上 Pin It

黑暗药物

免费
查看

Resurrection of the biomorphs

Jun, 2016 | Science

“ The biomorph experiment was one of the first ‘apps’ that demonstrated the fundamentals of evolution as described by Darwin. It’s sad to think what else we may have lost on the way”

Dr D C Herath

Medical Director, PRAESENTIA 

It’s interesting to think what has been lost since the internet began. It has been 30 years since Richard Dawkins published ‘The Blind Watchmaker’ and then went on to write his biomorph algorithm to demonstrate evolution in action. These were let loose upon the public at the inaugural Artificial Life conference at Los Alamos in New Mexico in 1987. Back then we hadn’t set the standards that the internet and the world wide web would grow by and the biomorph programme (having been written in Pascal) fell foul of being in the ‘wrong standard’. It was lost but now Penguin has brought the critters back.

 

Original Biomorph Programme

The original biomorph programme became obsolete with the march of new emerging standards, having been written in Pascal (Source: Richard Dawkins)

The biomorph programme allowed the user to start with small stick creatures and through selective evolution, by choosing the father and mother of the next generation, ultimately ending up with something that resembled an insect. 20 years later having read  D’Arcy Thompson’s book ‘on growth and form‘, Dawkins developed a similar programme for evolving shells. Thompson’s book described how three indices plotted inside a cube described any shell structure. Penguin to celebrate the relaunch of three of Dawkins’s key books; The Blind Watchmaker, Climbing Mount Improbable and Unweaving the Rainbow have also resurrected the shell algorithm along with the biomorphs. This can be found at www.mountimprobable.com. The website allows the user to enter a special competition, to create their own biomorph or shell.

The programmes and the books are still valid today as when they were first launched. The biomorph experiment was one of the first ‘apps’ that demonstrated the fundamentals of evolution as described by Darwin. It’s sad to think what else we may have lost on the way.

Reference(s)

  1. http://www.mountimprobable.com/ (accessed 13th June 2016)

  • Mercury helps to detail Earth's most massive...
    on January, 2023 at 6:11 pm

    Scientists are working to understand the cause and how the events of the LPME unfolded by focusing on mercury from Siberian volcanoes that ended up in sediments in Australia and South Africa.

  • Meteorites reveal likely origin of Earth's...
    on January, 2023 at 6:11 pm

    By analyzing meteorites, researchers have uncovered the likely far-flung origin of Earth's volatile chemicals, some of which form the building blocks of life.

  • Quantum physicists make major nanoscopic advance
    on January, 2023 at 9:19 pm

    In a new breakthrough, researchers have solved a problem that has caused quantum researchers headaches for years. The researchers can now control two quantum light sources rather than one. Trivial as it may seem to those uninitiated in quantum, this colossal breakthrough allows researchers to […]

  • New AI tool makes speedy gene-editing possible
    on January, 2023 at 5:44 pm

    An artificial intelligence program may enable the first simple production of customizable proteins called zinc fingers to treat diseases by turning genes on and off. The researchers who designed the tool say it promises to accelerate the development of gene therapies on a large scale.

  • NASA's Fermi detects first gamma-ray eclipses...
    on January, 2023 at 5:44 pm

    Scientists have discovered the first gamma-ray eclipses from a special type of binary star system using data from NASA's Fermi Gamma-ray Space Telescope. These so-called spider systems each contain a pulsar -- the superdense, rapidly rotating remains of a star that exploded in a supernova -- that […]

  • AI technology generates original proteins from...
    on January, 2023 at 5:43 pm

    Scientists have created an AI system capable of generating artificial enzymes from scratch. In laboratory tests, some of these enzymes worked as well as those found in nature, even when their artificially generated amino acid sequences diverged significantly from any known natural protein.

Pin It on Pinterest